HPMC Capsules are also known as Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose capsules, vegetarian capsules, cellulose capsule shells or vegetable capsules.

These capsules are made from cellulose obtained from plants. These capsules are more costlier than gelatin capsules. In todays world where people are more inclined towards veganism and religious believes HPMC capsules are the right choice.

We are proud to say that we maintain largest inventories of HPMC colors consisting of more than 10 colors and in more than 3 sizes- 00, 0, 2, 3.

Some of the physicochemical and pharmaceutical properties of HPMC that make it the most suitable and preferable alternative material to gelatin are:


  • The animal source of gelatin is an area of concern for some sections of population such as vegetarians or vegans and people belonging to certain religious or ethnic groups who practice diets that forbid the use of animal products

  • Cross-linking problem with the excipients is totally absent since, the polymer is free from amino acids,

  • HPMC has better stability at different temperature and moisture conditions, compared to gelatin.

  • In HPMC, its non-ionic nature makes it compatible with most of the commonly used excipients as well as APIs,

  • HPMC is Preservative-free, allergen-free, starch-free and gluten-free

  • HPMC capsules are easy to swallow as gelatin based ones,

  • In HPMC, Dissolution performance is similar to gelatin capsule in terms of fast release of drug.

White / White Capsules